Elgazette Logo newtrans  The magazine for English language teaching and English medium education


What qualifications and experience do I need to do the LTCL Diploma?

The LTCL Diploma is an advanced level teaching qualification suitable for ESOL/EFL teachers who have been teaching for at least two academic years at the time of interview. In addition, you will need a degree or equivalent qualification. An initial TEFL qualification such as the Trinity CertTESOL is highly desirable but not essential.

What do I have to study?

The LTCL Diploma syllabus covers:

  • language topics such as grammar, discourse, phonology and semantics
  • learning and teaching issues such as the historical development of TESOL approaches or aspects of classroom practice and course design
  • professional development issues such as aspects of educational management or teacher training

You will need to engage with the theories underpinning ESOL practice but everything you study will be related to your practical needs as a teacher. Trinity also places strong emphasis on self-reflection and personal development.

How much does the course cost?

Providers set their own course fees so please contact them for this information. In addition Trinity charges an examination fee for each unit of the Diploma – please contact us for more details.

What examinations do I need to take?

The LTCL Diploma is examined in four units: a three-hour written paper, a portfolio assignment, an oral (phonology) interview and teaching practice. Assessment is a mixture of the external (by Trinity's own panel of examiners) and internal (by the course provider). In addition, all internally assessed work is moderated by our panel of examiners. If you fail any unit you only need to retake that part and you have three years to retake from the date of the first examination you took.

How long does a course last?

Providers offer the Diploma either full- or part-time. Full-time course typically last 10 to 12 weeks, part-time courses can take up to a year. Often there is a gap between the end of the course and the written examination in order to allow for revision.

Can I do the course by distance learning?

Yes. All courses have a minimum face-to-face component of 40 hours but many providers offer a range of distance options, from traditional workbooks to online programmes making use of communications software.

Where can I take a course?

Courses are currently offered in the UK, Europe, Asia and New Zealand, so please visit our provider locator in order to find a course that suits you. If you take a distance course, you will usually have to attend a face-to-face component of three weeks or more.

When are courses available?

Our providers run courses throughout the year, so please visit our provider locator in order to find the dates that suit you.

How do I apply?

Providers set their own interview procedures, typically consisting of an on-the-spot written task and oral interview. You will also have to verify that you meet the eligibility requirements of the LTCL Diploma.

Can I get funding for my course?

Some institutions receive government funding towards the CertTESOL programme and are therefore able to charge lower than average fees. Some unemployed people are eligible for assistance with fees. Please check with the course provider or your local education authority for details.

What if English is not my first language?

The LTCL Diploma is open to native and non-native speakers of English. All applicants must demonstrate appropriate competence in their written and spoken English consistent with following this demanding course and completing the examinations successfully.

Is the Trinity Diploma a recognised course?

Yes, it is recognised as a qualification for English language teaching in the UK and internationally. It meets the specifications set by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority (QCA), the statutory body authorised to approve qualifications in this field in England, and the (former) British Association of TESOL Qualifying Institutions in establishing a national framework of specifications. It is also accepted as a full teaching qualification by the British Council in the English language teaching organisations accredited by the Council in the UK and in their own teaching operations outside the UK. Many other state and independent sector teaching organizations accept the qualification.